As A and I drove off to the beach today, leaving Mr. E home with his grandmother, A said to me, I have a little mama guilt leaving him. I boldly replied, I don’t have any. A day way from the boy was just what I needed.

We set up camp on the beach, the way we did pre Mr. E. We sat in the SUN (not under the umbrella to protect him), read our books, swam when we got hot, drank beers, walked out on the flats after the tide moved out, and above all r.e.l.a.x.e.d. It was delicious!

While we were walking back in from the flats I mentioned to A that my mother asked me if I wanted her to call with updates. I told her no, just call if you need something. A said, oh, I wish she was calling with updates. Um, we got six hours away, at the beach, with out our boy…why would I want this sacred time interrupted with updates?

This, I think is the difference between a stay at home mom and a work out of the home mom. At least, in our case, this is what it boils down to. I bask in my time away, because it’s so rare. And A feels bad.

But she didn’t feel bad enough not to enjoy the day. It was great. I can’t believe it’s July 13th and I just went swimming for the first time this summer, for real swimming, body submerged, for an extended period of time. We stayed for about six hours until my milk-filled breasts dictated us home. Mr. E had a great day away from us too.

We topped off our perfect beach day with a trip out for ice cream after dinner tonight. Today, we blended in with the tourists, and you know we kind of felt like we were on vacation today.

