How is it possible that my baby will be six months old tomorrow?! We’ve been so busy and I haven’t really been keeping up here.

The big news is that he now has two teeth! He’s eating solids – so far just sweet potatoes and avocados. We’re making all his food and it’s been a lot of fun!

He’s been to the beach twice since Sunday and enjoyed dipping his toes in the water today. He was so tired from the beach today that he took a 2 1/2 hour nap! It was amazing. He’s more and more fun every day.

Nights are still hard hard hard. I had a bit of a break down last night. I guess it’s to be expected since I have not slept through the night since sometime before he was born (ah, the last months of pregnancy, how I do not miss you). As I’ve previously blogged, we resorted to CIO about a month ago when he started going to sleep hard. Up until last night we had not used it over night. But we were both a mess last night so when it wasn’t feeding time, he was left to cry. It worked. I am so glad it works for us! I sought and received a lot of advice from my “Fertility Friends” today and I am messing with his schedule a little to try to make night time a little easier. And in the back my mind, I am counting down to 9 months, because I have somehow convinced myself that by 9 months he will be sleeping through the night.

He and I start sign language classes tomorrow and he goes for his six month check up tomorrow (aren’t we efficient going on his 6 month birthday!). I already know a few signs so I use them when appropriate (eat, drink, more, milk, potty, mom, clapping). He particularly like the silent clap (palms of my hands raised and facing him, turning in and out) – I use this when he is successful on the potty, and he laughs.

I love this little guy so much. So so so much. And in a way that I didn’t know was possible. Ever since we (seriously) started talking about ttc our next child, I’ve wondered how I could ever love another baby this much. And also questioned if I want to share my time with another baby. My mother said she had the same feelings before she had me. I don’t doubt that I will love our next child just as much as I love him, it’s just such an overwhelming love that it’s hard to comprehend.

I wonder if I will love him even more on the morning after he lets me sleep all night?

