Having a newborn and being a first time mom sure is interesting. I’ve found myself doing things I never would have dreamed of doing in the past, or just not caring about stuff like I used to. Here are some examples:

  • For the first two weeks of Mr. E’s life I spent more time in sweatpants and a nursing bra – getting a shirt on took too much time and with nursing every 2-3 hours I was constantly puling it up, so what was the point? Now that we’re into the third week I’ve managed to start fully dressing myself.
  • I did a complete load of laundry in the middle of the night a few nights ago. I put it in after the 1am feeding and then switched it to the drier at the 4am feeding. This might be the craziest new mom thing I’ve done. I did have a reason. I have three decent nursing bras. Two were already in the laundry and the third one was on my body and covered in spit up. I knew I’d want a clean one in the morning…thus the middle of the night laundry.
  • I am spent by 6pm every night, so I’ve taken to prepping dinner in the morning so that we just have to put it in the oven at dinner time. (This is not meant to sound like I cook every night – because that is the furthest thing from the truth, but when I do, this is the new routine.)
  • I eat my food faster than I used to, and I used to eat damn fast.
  • It does not phase me when I am covered in pee or spit up, I draw the line at poop. (Little boys love to spray their moms while being changed!)
  • I’ve learned that Mr. E calls the shots. A and I swore he would not sleep in our bed. We have a co-sleeper that was next to the bed for easy nursing. Well, that lasted 1.5 nights. He’s been in our bed since our third night home. We tried the co-sleeper once more and he woke after an hour. I now refer to the co-sleeper as the no-sleeper. None of us sleep when we try to put him down in there.
