SIL and two year old nephew are visiting. Mostly this is fun. It’s nap and bed time that becomes a challenge for two reasons, one we don’t have a crib and he is getting too big for the pack n play and two because he’s in a place he does not know well. The first night he slept in his own room by himself until about 3:30am when he woke screaming so his mommy took him into her bed. An hour and a half later he was back to sleep. Nap was a challenge the next day but he did end up sleeping for several hour in his pack n play. Last night he would not go to sleep – not in the PNP and not in bed with mommy. After an hour my SIL came down stairs with nephew and was so frustrated. The poor boy was all upset too. I went to him and asked if he was having a rough night, he hugged me and shook his head yes. So I took him upstairs and laid down with him. He tried to play in bed for a while. After about 20 minutes he fell asleep.

SIL is 8 months pregnant and was really hot. The AC was running in mine and A’s room, but she would have roasted in her room with nephew, so we did a bed swap. I slept with nephew, A. slept on the futon in what will soon be Moon beam’s room, and SIL slept in our room with the AC. All of which made perfect sense to us considering she really needed the AC and she’d had a rough night with him the night before.

So, what’s it like to sleep with a two year old? Well, not very restful. I did fall asleep with out much trouble, but the boy kept moving all night. At one point he started crying but was easily calmed back to sleep by me rubbing his back. Then this morning, starting around 5 he started flipping all over the bed. I can’t tell you how many times he kicked me. I was trying to pretend to be asleep so we would fall back to sleep (he usually sleeps till 8:30). But he was moving so much and then…binky fell on the floor and it was ALL OVER! The first thing out of his mouth was, “Where’s Auntie A?” I put up with his crap all night and she’s the person he wants to see when he wakes? How is that fair? Oh well. It was all worth it to have him visit and now I won’t have to listen to SIL complain about she didn’t get any sleep…cause she’s still up in bed.

I feel like I’ve gotten a glimmer of what’s to come, and as I type I have a two year old attached to my side, who constantly wants to push the keyboard buttons.

