I have today off. Prior to today I had not left the house since Friday, with the exception of leaving to have my hair cut on Saturday. (Which took 1 1/2 hours, but my hair salon experiences are a whole other post.) I love being at home, and doing nothing, but there comes a time when I need to get out. Today I managed to get myself out of the house a little before 1 o’clock. I headed to Target. There were some household items we needed and I’ve had my eye on a bathing suit there for a while. So I thought I go and wander around.

I am leaving for Florida in a little less than two weeks (five nights for work plus four nights added on for vacation!). I needed a new bathing suit, because I hate the one I got last year. Maybe I wore it too much, or maybe I was high when I bought it, and now I hate it. About a month ago I saw a really cool bathing suit there, and since I didn’t really want to spend a lot of money on a bathing suit, I decided to try it on. I was prepared for them not have my size, after all it’s been a month! Mixed in with many ugly suits, I found the one I’ve been thinking about, and there was only ONE left, and it was MY size! I tried it on, and I thought it looked okay (as okay as a bathing suit can look on me, in March, when I’ve neglected my gym for far too long). I bought it, but now I feel I need a second opinion. Hopefully A. will like it too and my bathing suit search will be over (it’s never been that quick)!

While I was perusing the bathing suits several other articles of clothing caught my eye. Before long I found myself in the dressing room trying on shirts, pants, skirts, dresses…and knowing I shouldn’t spend the money on any of them. But so many of them fit me and I am in dire need of some new clothing. Once I had filled my cart, I finished the household shopping and started to feel very crampy. I decided that I could buy all the clothes and then bring back some of them after showing them to A. She can help me decide what to keep. This was my little form of retail therapy. My grandmother always said, “when the going gets tough, the tough go shopping.” Today I gave myself permission to soothe myself with new clothes. And I want to go out for dinner tonight too!

