I have to attend mind numbing consultation meetings on the first and third Thursdays of every month. I’ve been doing it for two and a half years. The meeting consists of four of my co-workers, my supervisor, and the director of a pretty important office on campus.

Just before the meeting began today the director of said important office turned to me, after just noticing my diamond ring and asked,

“Are you engaged?”

I replied, “no I am married.”

“Oh when did you get married?”

“In 2004.” For the record- I was married before I ever met this man!

“Oh. I didn’t know. Well, what does you husband do?”

“My wife, A. works at – fill in department of college we both work at.”

And then he tried to recover, but really how could he? He was clearly embarrassed. The most troubling part, this man is the director of an important office that provides a very needed service to students, and this is how he thinks?!

