I’ve been pretty quiet this week. Work has been really busy and other than that there hasn’t been much going.

My phone interview was postponed. I am really bummed about that, but it will be rescheduled. Work has been so stressful/busy that two co-workers, A., and I paid a visit to our local watering hole last night. We were there form 5:30-9pm! Which is soooo not okay on a Tuesday night. I wanted more than anything to call in sick today so I could stay home and sleep. But that was far from an option for me. I am trying really hard to get everything done at work, while balancing my internship, and having a life. So far I am mostly getting my work done, slacking on my internship, and am a total waste at home…I am going on two weeks of not putting my clothes away. A. is so anal about her things being away, but really never nags me about the fact that I suck at keeping my stuff neat and tidy. She’s just chill, and after six years must know this is just how I am.

Today I had the horrible job, for the first time, of telling someone that someone they really care about had died. I was giving the news to a student I know really well, and we were seeing each other for the first time in over a month. He was so excited to tell me all about his break, all the adventures he’d been on. I listened to him for a while and then had to break the news that an employee of our college, whom he was extremely close to, died yesterday. It felt awful. He turned white and was visible deflated. We hugged and he left to think about it. I can’t tell you how many times my mother has delivered death news to me. She always starts it with “well I have some bad news…[fill in the blank] died.” I’ve always hated that. Honestly, I am not sure what my delivery was today, but I know I did not use my mother’s line. And I hope it’s a long time before I have to give such news to anyone else.

