Beat, that is what I am.

As the semester close approaches, I feel as though I’ve been run over by a Mack truck, over and over and over. I’ve never felt so tired in my life. A. will disagree with this statement and say I am always tired, but I am not so sure.

Classes end a week from today, and the little fuckers, I mean students, have to leave by Dec. 14th. Oh how I can not wait till 4:30 on the 14th. There are exceptions made for folks taking 5 college classes, and thus exams, but most will be gone and my work load will slooooooooow right down.

They’ll all be gone by noon on the 22nd. This makes me grin from ear to ear. Some how I managed to complete all my on call requirements already- I went off at 4:30 today. I’ve been on for three of the last five weeks and am so glad to be done for four to seven weeks, depending on when I go back on in January. As a way of rejoicing this I’ve silenced our phone and turned off my cell phone. No one can contact me.

A. left for D.C. for work Thursday morning and will return Sunday. It feels like she’s been gone for a long time, but I think that’s just because I’ve had two very long days since she left. Our poor cats hate it when she’s away- their feedings are sporadic and I often forget to give Mr. Lou his fiber pill (yes our cat takes a daily fiber supplement in order to stay regular). I stop home for a minute at a time, and they try to get some love, I tell them I’ll be home later. It’s so pathetic and makes me wonder how I will balance children with my life. I need to accept the fact that children are going to slow me down. I will have to be better about not working extra hours, and in general doing too much. A. is very understanding of my schedule, but a child could not be expected to.

Anyway, she is having some fun in D.C. but working hard and can’t wait to get home. I miss her, but I have to be honest, I do enjoy the alone time I get when she travels for work (which seems quite frequent through out the fall months). I love sitting in our house and listening to nothing but the tick of the clock, the motor of the humidifier, and the hum of the refrigerator. I do have a lot to do this weekend and need to find a balance between sitting on my ass relaxing and being productive. Here’s the list of things I’ve got to do:

  • Update my resume and apply to two jobs – must do this!
  • Look for newly posted jobs, apply
  • Start Christmas shopping (only if I am really ambitious, but with A. out of town I should at least buy for her)
  • Buy a birthday present for my best friend
  • Go to said friend’s birthday party
  • Take a long hot relaxing bubble bath
  • Feed the cats – twice a day!
  • Water the plants
  • Clean and do laundry
  • Buy food – who am I kidding, I won’t do this one
  • Go to an open house for a condo
  • Pay bills / balance checkbook

This is quite an ambitious list given how tired and lazy I feel tonight. Ah well.

I just went into the kitchen to get a drink and found this:

Our cats are seriously messed up in the head. Why on Earth, would he choose to sleep on the EDGE of the counter when there are so many other comfortable and not so comfortable spots to sleep in out house? We’ve given up trying to keep them off counters and tables, it’s a losing battle. They always do it when we are not around.

Clearly, this post has turned into my randoms thoughts while I have quiet alone time at home. Hope you all have a great weekend.

Oh, and thanks to all of you who delurked, I should put “add delurked bloggers to my linked blogs” on my to do list for the weekend.

Goodnight.

